Chuck’s 200×5 Challenge, Part 2

Posted: November 30, 2013 in General

Last week, I wrote the opening 200 words of a 1,000 word flash fiction story. A fine fellow named Andrew Linder took up Chuck’s challenge and wrote the next 200 words of that tale. You can read his contribution over on His Blog.

Meanwhile, I picked up the thread of Paul J Willett’s story. I really like the idea of the MC. Unfortunately, 200 words doesn’t allow much room for character development. Did the best I could. Again, first 200 words are Paul’s. Second bit is me. Enjoy Winter Takes All.

The first time I saw it snowing in Los Angeles it was the sixth day of a three-day juice cleanse. Snow was definitely not something one normally saw down in the basin, at least, not then.

Because of my need to purify my body and aura, the news and media, filled with nothing but anger and pain, had been cast away along with the other toxins. My base aural color had always been a lavender or sky blue. Recently though, it had started to get muddied and dark. I would have thought my third eye would have seen the unusual weather coming, but it didn’t, so I was caught off guard.

When I first saw the falling flakes I thought I might have overdone the cleanse. Last time I had seen Elvis riding an ostrich on the seventh day. My transmundane counselor had resolved the issue with some orange juice, chocolate, and a sandwich, but that solution didn’t work on the weather. It was still snowing on the pier.

In Santa Monica we only got three inches, but of course it was more than enough to spread gridlock all the way to Riverside. Then, of course, things got much worse.

* * *

Wolves sprinted northward along the shoulder of the Interstate. Spectral at first, their forms quickly firmed from fog to massive, grey-white beasts, all fur and fang. Screaming people climbed from cars and ran eastward, away from the pack. The pack, on the other hand, paid little mind to the panicked masses.

I finished my sandwich, tipped back the last of my orange juice, and glanced over longingly at the waiting chocolate. Damn it. Opening the car door, I stepped out and manifested my Third Eye. My gaze followed the wolves, past the traffic, beyond the mundane. And there, further north, a silver radiance fluoresced from sky to soil, the obvious beacon guiding the will of these dire wolves.

Gridlock held my Taurus in its palsied grip so I opted for a more direct mode of travel. Delicately, I pulled along the seam of my own aura. With practiced ease, I unthreaded the edge and stepped beyond it into–

My third eye slammed shut, transcendental tears splashing my cheeks. Before me, what had once been a paradise of color and fragrance was now a blighted wasteland of ash. And in the distance a brilliant wound ripped the world from Heaven to Hell

Comments
  1. murgatroid98 says:

    I love what both of you have done with this story.

  2. momdude says:

    Michael,
    I completely missed this last week, sorry! I really liked where you went with this, it’s much more like something from Richard Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series, which is a real favorite of mine. Great work!

  3. […] (Second segment written by Michael D. Woods and posted here.) […]

Leave a Reply

